Lifeguard Training & Courses | YMCA of Simcoe/Muskoka
image description

Aquatics Certification

Lifeguarding Training & Certification

At the YMCA you can complete your aquatics leadership courses from Bronze Medallion to National Lifeguard. The YMCA offers Lifesaving Society courses year round and require registrations. Find out what it takes to earn your qualifications to be a trained lifeguard, certified to work anywhere in Canada.

Become a National Lifeguard with the YMCA Lifeguard Training & Certification Program

Jesse’s Story – I started swimming at the Y when I was 10 years old”
When my family moved to Wasaga Beach from Alberta, one of the first things my parents did was enroll my brothers and I in swimming lessons at the YMCA. I swam every Saturday morning, progressing through each Star level, then completed Masters/Star 7.

One summer, my mom convinced me to volunteer at the pool. I instantly found that I really enjoyed interacting with the kids in the classes, and helping them develop their swimming skills. The staff on the pool deck encouraged me to take the next steps towards becoming a Lifeguard and Swim Instructor. That year, I participated in the Bronze Medallion and Bronze Cross courses, and completed my NLS by the end of the summer. I was hired to start the next week!

Today I’m a lifeguard and swim instructor with the Wasaga Beach Y, and I plan to remain involved in Aquatics for a long time. I continue to develop my skills and further my knowledge, and am now certified as a Lifesaving Instructor and Examiner, First Aid Instructor and Examiner, and Lifeguard Instructor.

Working at the Y in aquatics is one of the best things to have happened in my life. I get to do something I enjoy everyday in an environment that is extremely encouraging and supportive. I also get to help others work towards their goal of becoming a lifeguard.

Jesse Ramson
Pool Deck Supervisor, Wasaga Beach YMCA


Aquatic Staff Openings Available at the YMCA of Simcoe/Muskoka

Click here to view the job posting for Lifeguard. 

  Open Positions Contact Email
Barrie 5 part-time Dale Rowe dale_rowe@ymca.ca
Collingwood 3 part-time  Tracy Ineson tracy_ineson@ymca.ca
Gravenhurst 3 part-time
2 full-time
Tara Gregor tara_gregor@ymca.ca
Innisfil 11 part-time Sylvia Pearson sylvia_pearson@ymca.ca
Midland 5 part-time  Brooke Klein-Gebbinck brooke_klein-gebbinck@ymca.ca
Orillia 8 part-time  Robyn McCrea robyn_mccrea@ymca.ca
Wasaga Beach 15 part-time  Paul Hawkes paul_hawkes@ymca.ca
Any Location  50 part-time
2 full-time
Sylvia Pearson sylvia_pearson@ymca.ca

Any further inquiries, please contact:

Sylvia Pearson
Aquatics Supervisor
Innisfil YMCA
sylvia_pearson@ymca.ca
705-431-9622, ext 227